Header image

About us

Advisory Council

The Government has appointed the following persons to be members of the Advisory Council of the Swedish Polar Research Secretariat:

  • Stefan Claesson, Professor at the Swedish Museum of Natural History.
  • Lena Gustafsson, Professor and former Vice-Chancellor at Umeå University.
  • Anna Jöborn, Director of the Science Affairs Department, Swedish Agency for Marine and Water Management.
  • Lennart Nordh, former Director of Science, Swedish National Space Board.
  • Peter Sköld, Professor, Arctic Research Centre at Umeå University (Arcum).
  • Eva Thörnelöf, Head of Department, Swedish Environmental Protection Agency.
  • Nina Wormbs, Head of Division of History of Science, Technology and Environment, KTH Royal Institute of Technology.

The Director-General is the chairman of the Advisory Council and shall keep the Council informed about the activities of the organisation.


The Swedish Polar Research Secretariat and Swedish Research Council have established a shared roadmap for support to research projects in polar regions outside Sweden.